“Youtube is the main reason I chose to study Journalism”

1000081_10201022711266706_1411871864_n

“Making youtube videos is the main factor why I chose my degree. Without Youtube, I think I would’ve been stuck on what to study. Youtube has really given me confidence as it puts me out of my comfort zone.” – Veronica Cremen (18, Bachelor of Media and Communications, Bachelor of Journalism).

At only 15, Veronica uploaded a video of her accidentally being hit by her bestfriend with a waterbottle. “We were laughing about it so much and we thought it would honestly get no views and it would just be for laughs and between us.” However, overnight it had reached 1000 views and had several comments from viewers asking Veronica and her friend to upload more. This led to Miss Cremen exploring Youtube in a whole new way. Stumbling upon the fashion and beauty side of Youtube was how Veronica decided what videos she would upload next. “I realised that this was an avenue I’d really like to explore. It was the best thing I ever did.” Cremen states.

Although your hobbies tend to not co-exist with your academic pursuits, this is not the case for Veronica. Studying Journalism and Media and Communications there are many skills that you either need to learn, or already have. And, Veronica feels she already has those fundamental skills that she can hopefully work on during her studies. “Making Youtube videos has  given me skills on camera placement, speaking in front of crowds, and knowledge about media platforms, advertising, digital media and the ever-growing world of social media. Which, has also made me aware of the possible jobs that may exist at the end of my degree.”

Making Youtube videos has also created many opportunities for Veronica and she is very enthusiastic of what the future holds for her. She has become friends with a few different bands (Elephant Laundry) and has a video uploaded of her doing Dylan Cartwright’s makeup (the lead singer). This has led to her doing their makeup for photoshoots, music videos and shows. Veronica has also been introduced to Mary Kay and is now a senior consultant for them. “Having contacts is really important, and I am close with the owner of Boom video who I’m going to sign with soon, which will hopefully create more opportunities for me in the future.”

Veronica is looking forward to what the future holds and can already see how things have started to change. “Starting my channel in 2010, there wasn’t many Australian YouTubers out there, but now there is so many! It’s great to see Australians out there on the platform and showcasing their best efforts.”

However, Miss Cremen states that becoming a full-time Youtuber isn’t a priority right now. “Being 18 years old I’m balancing my life between University, jobs, friends and traveling. Who knows that the future holds though!”

Link to Veronica’s Youtube Account: https://www.youtube.com/user/girlbeyoutee/featured

A list of other Youtube accounts that Veronica shared as her inspirations:

Bethany Mota (Macbarbie07)

Kandee Johnson

Troye Sivan

Zoella

Thatcher Joe

Caspar Lee

Jack & Finn

Leave a Reply

